MGSHPA Hall of Fame

Through a formal nomination process and by vote of the Executive Board, we honor the best of the best in the Minnesota with induction to the Hall of Fame.



Congratulations to 2022 Hall of Fame Inductee

Jerry Werk


Recognized for longevity in the MGSHPA (15+ years) with overall greatness on the court. Hall of Fame pitchers have qualified for State Championships (3+ years) with sustained high ringer averages (60+ percent). They are the mainstays of our sport.

2019 - Henry Greenwaldt (Bertha, MN)

2018 - Mark Smith (Darwin, MN)

2017 - Al Larson (Evansville, MN)

2016 - Janet Larson (Evansville, MN)

2014 - Sig Armitage (Canby, MN)

2012 - Bob Knudtson (Brooklyn Park, MN)

2006 - Harold Schrader (Easton, MN)

1999 - Gerald Stangland (Deep River, MN)

1998 - Mark Bauman (Madelia, MN)

1997 - Elwood Johnson (Blue Earth, MN)

1997 - Ralph Marcks (Blaine, MN)

1997 - Bub Gedatus (Stillwater, MN)

1996 - Gene Anderson (Roseville, MN)

1996 - Harry Benson (Hibbing, MN)

1995 - Lu Cave (Rice, MN)

1993 - Rev. Martin Birkholz (North Mankato, MN)

1993 - Jim Aleckson (Santiago, MN)

1992 - Bev Nathe (Saint Stephen, MN)

1992 - Edi Holland (Dayton, MN)

1991 - Steve Stensgaard (Saint Paul, MN)

1990 - Dane Hughes (Bloomington, MN)

1987 - Alvin Mischke (Westbrook, MN)

1986 - Henry Stromberg (Soderville, MN)

1986 - Phyllis Negaard (Saint Joseph, MN)

1985 - Len Lipovsky (Bloomington, MN)

1984 - Julius Johnson (Minneapolis, MN)

1983 - Ralph Lundberg (Minneapolis, MN)

1983 - Dale Lipovsky (Bloomington, MN)

1982 - Everett Peterson (Windom, MN)

1981 - Jack O'Connor (Brainerd, MN)

1980 - Larye Ambrose (Jackson, MN)

1979 - Marv Richmond (Pequot Lakes, MN)

1978 - Carl West (Saint Paul, MN)

1977 - John Yernberg (Saint Paul, MN)

1976 - Joe Anzaldi (Saint Paul, MN)

1975 - Howie Ganz (Backus, MN)

1974 - Al Holter (Minneapolis, MN)

1973 - Art Cummings (Minneapolis, MN)

1972 - Gust Magnuson (Canby, MN)

1971 - Nels Peterson (Rochester, MN)

1970 - Hart Knutson (Minneapolis, MN)

1969 - Ron Cherrier (Minneapolis, MN)

1969 - Andy Paglarini (Hibbing, MN)

1969 - Frank Stinson (Minneapolis, MN)


Recognized for longevity in the MGSHPA (15+ years), leadership on our board of directors (3+ years), management of leagues & tournaments (5+ years), and overall impact on our sport through mentorship, recruitment, and other promotional endeavors.

2022 - Jerry Werk (Herman, MN)

2016 - Joseph Mueller (Ham Lake, MN)

2015 - Gene Gross (Bloomington, MN)

2014 - Dick David (Montgomery, MN)

2013 - Jim Rebrovich (Hibbing, MN)

2012 - Rick Wright (Forest Lake, MN)

2011 - Bud Nelson (Forest Lake, MN)

2010 - Mel & Joyce Larson (Upsala, MN)

2009 - Ken Greenlee (Austin, MN)

2008 - Marv & Marlys Tim (Loretto, MN)

2007 - Jerry LaBrosse (Greenfield, MN)

2003 - Jim & Bonnie Holland (Blaine, MN)

2002 - Ward Lutz (Rochester, MN)

2001 - Les Holland (McGregor, MN)

2000 - Dick Dvorak (Saint Paul, MN)

1999 - Glen Sandquist (Watertown, MN)

1998 - Bill Grillo (Side Lake, MN)

1996 - John & Lynn Rieger (Rochester, MN)

1995 - Dean Heng (Brooklyn Park, MN)

1995 - Dennis Carlson (Little Canada, MN)

1994 - Harry Fillafer (Moorhead, MN)

1994 - Rob Dunn (Brooklyn Park, MN

1993 - Norm Gage (Saint Paul, MN)

1992 - Jack & Judy Loeffen (Wadena, MN)

1991 - Dick & Rosie Leyk (Sauke Rapids, MN)

1990 - Joe Knollmaier (Saint Paul, MN)

1989 - Eugene Alexander (Minneapolis, MN)

1989 - George & June Nick (Hastings, MN)

1988 - Bob & Jean Lindberg (Fridley, MN)

1988 - Ray Tilli (Duluth, MN)

1987 - Erwin & Rose Tischer (Good Thunder, MN)

1986 - Gene & Lynn Hughes (Bloomington, MN)

1985 - Dave & Yvonne Evenson (Donnelly, MN)

1985 - Gordon Hosfield (Medford, MN)

1984 - Lloyd & Brooks Henrikson (Coon Rapids, MN)

1983 - Stan & Dorothy Eaton (Owatonna, MN)

1982 - Henry & Delores Preimesberger (Genola, MN)

1982 - Lloyd S. Frederickson (Wayzata, MN)

1981 - Art Moran (Webster, MN)

1980 - Hjalmer & Julia Johnson (Menahga, MN)

1979 - Will Gullickson (Moorhead, MN)

1978 - Charles Strafaccia (Hibbing, MN)

1977 - Cliff Lofgren (Hopkins, MN)

1976 - Doc Waesch (Redwood Falls, MN)

1975 - Al Hendrickson (Minneapolis, MN)

1974 - Arnold & Helen Erickson (Mankato, MN)

1973 - Si Andrews (Montevideo, MN)

1972 - George "Hots" Anderson (Duluth, MN)

1971 - Ken Huber (Saint Paul, MN)

1970 - Archie Anderson (Westbrook, MN)

Founders Category

We recognize the pioneers of horseshoes in Minnesota. These individuals, prior to our present-day organization, established the sport and passed it on to today's pitchers.

Harry Albrecht (Hutchinson, MN)

L.B. Allen (Hopkins, MN)

Leonard Ashpole (Bricelyn, MN)

Richard Banberry (Saint Paul, MN)

Don Behnke (Minneapolis, MN)

Charlie Beyers (Elgin, MN)

Frank Beyers (Elgin, MN)

Fred Beyers (Elgin, MN)

Herman Beyers (Elgin, MN)

Norton Beyers (Elgin, MN)

E.H. Block (Lamberton, MN)

Hazel Botts (Minneapolis, MN)

Mildred Brouilette (Minneapolis, MN)

H.M. Byrd (Red Wing, MN)

Clarence Carlson (Wanamingo, MM)

Jim Crawford (Duluth, MN)

Alex Cumming (Minneapolis, MN)

John Dahl (Minneapolis, MN)

Pearl Dahl (Minneapolis, MN)

Rose Dahl (Minneapolis, MN)

Albert Dalseide (Wanamingo, MN)

Frank Drassel (Saint Paul, MN)

Jim Gallentine (Austin, MN)

Paul Gilliam (Windom, MN)

Garland Gobel (Saint Peter, MN)

R.F. Hall (Saint Paul, MN)

Stanley Harlan (Mora, MN)

Haakaon Hauge (Hawley, MN)

William Havenor (Rochester, MN)

Alan Hay (Minneapolis, MN)

Fred Hay (Minneapolis, MN)

Minnie Hay (Minneapolis, MN)

Ann Heenan (Minneapolis, MN)

Jennie Henning (Adolph, MN)

L.O. Kelsven (Brainerd, MN)

Albert Larson (Albert Lea, MN)

Louis Larson (Mankato, MN)

Ben Leighton (Minneapolis, MN)

Margaret Lund (Minneapolis, MN)

Thorston Madsen (Good Thunder, MN)

Arnold Maki (Hibbing, MN)

Fay H. Marvin (Duluth, MN)

Marie Mathews (Minneapolis, MN)

Dr. George McDonald (Hawley, MN)

Andy Moehn (Saint Paul, MN)

Ernest Nelson (Willmar, MN)

Oscar Nelson (Brainerd, MN)

Tom Olson (Jasper, MN)

James S. Peavey (Rapidan, MN)

Vincent Pillar (Saint Paul, MN)

Harold Pluimer (Milaca, MN)

Richard Randsell (Minneapolis, MN)

Ralph Rasmussen (Minneapolis, MN)

Howard Ringham (Albert Lea, MN)

Albert Salvoy (Duluth, MN)

R.L. Schrewberry (Wayzata, MN)

Dr. C.A. Sotaaen (Windom, MN)

Raymond Steindorf (Stillwater, MN)

Otto Swanstrom (Duluth, MN)

Lyle Timlen (Mankato, MN)

Ben Trollen (Saint Paul, MN)

William Vail (Duluth, MN)

Dr. Charles Vandas (Saint Paul, MN)

Glen Werk (Herman, MN)

Chuck Yokum (Albert Lea, MN)

Neil Young (Minneapolis, MN)

Harold Zahrboch (Big Stone, MN)

Eugenia Ziemer (Brainerd, MN)

Junior Honor Roll

In recognition of our younger players who have displayed outstanding pitching abilities along with dedication to the development of our sport.

Lance Albrecht

Randy Albrecht

Judy Bjorlin

Bonnie Boser

Christy Cave

Collette Cave

Jessica Dunn

Tiffany Gage

Vance Harren

Jackie Hughes

Mathew Korpela

Bill LaBrosse

Jerry LaBrosse

Kayla Larson

Joey Mueller

Josh Olson

Joy Sandquist

Crystal Sheehan

Alden Sundquist

Chris White